Dear Mr. Cathy,
I don’t eat at Chick-a-Phil and I don’t plan to. I’m sure your food is fine, but I’m trying to keep up my fitness so I’m sure you’d understand. I get that you’re taking a “stand” against gay marriage, but really, what are you standing up for?

I was raised as a Baptist too, but I’m not particularily religious. I grew up in a neighborhood in Minnesota that was predominatly white, Protestant, and “traditional.” I was beyond sheltered. When I attended college at 18 I didn’t know what “gay” or “homosexual” meant, I actually had to have a good friend explain it to me. To which I said, “Wow, really?”

As an adult I know that there are simply a lot of things that I don’t understand and experiences that I simply won’t have. My parents have been together and happy for over 30 years so I don’t know what it’s like to go through a divorce. I’ve been exclusively into boys since I wore lace on my socks so I don’t know what it’s like to have feeling for another female. I grew up in church so I don’t know what life would be like with an absence of God.

But what I do know is that some people are different because they have different experiences, and because of these experiences have different values. By “different” I don’t mean bad or good, I just mean different. What I do know that despite orientation, race, gender, financial status, or ability people in general want three things: to be loved, to feel safe, and to have a purpose. So if you’re worried about gays having an “agenda,” you’re right. They do have an agenda if you count being treated like a person.

So why are people angry at Chick-a-Phil? Because you’re a big corporation who has decided that a large swath people aren’t able to have those three basic things. You’re a big corporation and you guys are acting like assholes. Marriage is two people formally announcing to the community their partnership. It can be a religious institution, but until the government stops issuing marriage licenses to Atheists and Agnostics, or better yet, outlawing divorce, there’s not a leg to stand on.

You’re entitled to have whatever beliefs you want, but I intend to keep my money in my pocket and urge other people to do the same. If you really want to make America a better place,  raise the wages for your employees or offer better health insurance coverage. Donating to the Republican party does no American any good.

Sincerely,

Nicole